Josef Schulz
arbeiten
information

 

< back   bio/ texts/ news/ contact/

Nebelland

Kerstin Stremmel, translated by Alison Shamrock

 

The ’present’ is only the ‘obstacle’ when journeying from the past to the future, and present and future to us seem to be this and that of the existence of time.
Daniil Kharms from: About time, about space, about existence

Transition is an appropriate title for Josef Schulz’s latest photo series for more than one reason. On the one hand it reminds us of these borders within Europe which are in the process of disappearing, and whose meaning and impact the photographer traces in his comprehensive project. On the other hand the word also implies change, the subject of this work and the decisive factor for choosing the formal means.

The photographs both in Übergang (Transition) and Schulz’ other series address our world in rigorously structured bodies of works and simultaneously transcend their findings by means of artistic development. To this end, for example in Centre Commercial, he assembled scenes from those functional shopping centres, which proliferate on the outskirts of cities and represent a form of Americanised shopping culture exceedingly unpopular with the Bourgeoisie, in images measuring up to 55cm in height and up to 4m in width, mostly in front of a perpetually blue sky, colourful and seemingly artificial panoramic views of mostly single storey warehouses. With these photographs Schulz was intent on taking pictures of locations which cannot be captured with conventional photographic means and which nonetheless, at first sight, present an apparently convincing picture of reality. In the groups of works Sachliches (Matter-of-fact Things) and Formen (Shapes) the manipulations, however, are far more apparent. The storehouses and production facilities look decidedly artificial, almost virtual, like brightly coloured, hermetic toy-models with which no one chooses to play. Schulz also manipulated the surfaces upon which these functional buildings stand – a concrete floor of such homogenous grey or grass with the appearance of having been trimmed with nail scissors is only too familiar from model railways. The basic structures do actually correspond to reality. The photographs analyse the confrontation of particular spaces and also examine the sculptural qualities developed by selected real and rather unspectacular shapes.

The consistent continuation of his theme - the tension between reality and meaningful manipulation - with this act of disfiguring things until they become recognisable, is also evident in Übergang. This series, in the clarity of its perspective portraiture more reminiscent of the typology of his Düsseldorf professors and, like them, aiming for attentive, comparing observations, consists of a multitude of European border posts. Some look like petrol stations bordering endless highways, others like bus stops at which no bus ever stops, yet others resemble small houses whose shutters will forever remain closed. Occasionally they have been decorated with graffiti, advertise the now obsolete opportunity for exchanging currency, for example between Spain and France, or they are tagged, seemingly modern, with the web address www.policia.si. Border guards no longer emerge for inspections from these functional buildings which, despite their functionality, are surprisingly varied. Yet looking at these photographs – labelled pragmatically with a system of abbreviations using the two first letters of the respective border countries and sequence numbers - recalls that anticipation of being subjected to scrutiny any moment now, as well as the still palpable surprise upon passing them that these proceedings, in the geographical field portrayed here, are now a thing of the past.

Schulz evokes the feeling of not really being anywhere when he uses blurring to render the background indistinct. The effect is more that of fog than of overexposure. As soon as one sees the harsh shadows cast by some of the border huts it becomes quite obvious that there is no fog: Josef Schulz also takes his photographs when the sky is clear and blue. This effect of precisely captured buildings and surroundings, which takes the buildings out of context, has been staged on purpose. It delays the hasty onlooker and makes him wonder about the purpose of these by now useless relics, these disintegrating “monuments”, and also about which borders still exist today. What becomes apparent as well, despite the faded shades, is the variation in flora: conifers and palm trees, vineyards and snowcapped mountains form the background of the precise architectural structures which give rise to the question of to what extent the dissimilarities between nations might manifest themselves in their architecture. The levelling of the surroundings also makes us question the importance of regional identities once national borders have lost their meaning. As beautiful as some of the plants are, as much as they awaken our wanderlust, their photographic dissolution also makes us feel melancholic.

The obvious artificiality in these photographs is an expression of Schulz’ interest in a new way of dealing with documentary material. Step by step he composes a new image using the available photographic material, entirely in accordance with that integration of photography in the domain of graphic art proposed by Peter Lunenfeld in his essay “Digital photography. The Dubitative Image“*. Thus the analysis of photographic evidence becomes the main characteristic of Schulz’ photographs. He does not intend to disown the authenticity of the photographic image. What interests him is the stage between reproduction and digital processing which uses manipulation in order to make discernible that which actually exists and, remarkably, to turn blurring into clarity. What determines the quality of his photographs is the fact that the means used never develop a life of their own, but are subordinate to the documentary will. This gives rise to the strange phenomenon of truth being established by a manipulation of art that identifies itself, and through this does not disavow the matter portrayed, despite the fact that the aesthetic impact of the photographs with their consistent colouring is strong – a beauty in transition which makes the decay of what it documents visible and in this way also implies the future process.

And yet another form of transition becomes visible through this kind of photographic approach: Sometimes interior and exterior appear to be translucent – nature is so intensely reflected in the windows that one is almost led to believe that the vegetation actually continues inside. This can, for example, be perceived in oesl01, where the colours of the reflection are so much stronger than those outside. In this way the precise architectural variants seem to incorporate some of that which surrounds them and resist a maybe only hypothetical similarity, they rather point to a difference which will remain visible throughout all changes. As a result every building shows “physiognomic“ personality which affords each individual photograph an interest which transcends the serial concept.

* Snap to Grid. A User’s Guide to Digital Arts, Media, and Cultures, (Cambridge, Mass. 2000), 55 – 69

Josef Schulz
arbeiten
information

 

< back   bio/ texts/ news/ contact/

Nebelland

Kerstin Stremmel

 

Die 'Gegenwart' ist nur das 'Hindernis' beim Übergang aus der Vergangenheit in die Zukunft, und Vergangenheit und Zukunft erscheinen uns als dieses und jenes der Existenz der Zeit. Daniil Charms aus: Über die Zeit, über den Raum, über die Existenz

Übergang ist aus mehreren Gründen ein passender Titel für die jüngste Fotoserie von Josef Schulz. Einerseits wird damit an jene im Verschwinden begriffenen innereuropäischen Grenzen erinnert, deren Bedeutung und Wirkung der Fotograf in seinem umfangreichen Projekt nachspürt, andererseits impliziert das Wort auch Veränderung, die Thema der Arbeit und Kriterium für die Wahl der formalen Mittel ist.

Für „Übergang„ gilt, wie für Schulz’ andere Serien, dass sich die Bilder in konsequent durchdeklinierten Werkblöcken mit unserer Lebenswelt auseinandersetzen und das Vorgefundene durch künstlerische Bearbeitung zugleich transzendieren. Dazu hat er etwa in „Centre Commercial„ Ansichten jener funktionalen Einkaufszentren, die sich in gewaltigen Ausmaßen am Rand der französischen Städte ausbreiten und eine von der Bourgeoisie nicht sehr geliebte Variante amerikanisierter Einkaufskultur darstellen, auf circa 55 cm hohen, bis zu 4 m breiten Bildern zusammengefasst, meist vor ewig blauem Himmel, farbenfrohe und künstlich wirkende Panoramen der meist eingeschossigen Hallen. Kam es Schulz bei diesen Bildern darauf an, Orte zu fotografieren, die mit herkömmlichen Mitteln der Fotografie nicht erfasst werden konnten und die dennoch auf den ersten Blick ein scheinbar überzeugendes Bild der Realität bieten, so sind die Manipulationen an den Werkgruppen „Sachliches„ und „Formen„ offensichtlicher. Lager- und Fertigungshallen etwa wirken ausgesprochen künstlich, fast virtuell, wie starkfarbige, hermetische Spielzeugmodelle, mit denen niemand spielen möchte. Auch die Flächen, auf denen diese funktionalen Zweckbauten stehen, hat Schulz manipuliert, einen solch homogen grauen Asphaltboden oder wie mit der Nagelschere geschnittenes Gras kennt man von Modelleisenbahnen. Die Grundstrukturen entsprechen durchaus dem Vorhandenen, die Fotografien analysieren, wie bestimmte Flächen aufeinander stoßen, welch skulpturale Qualität bestimmte, real existierende und eigentlich unspektakuläre Formen entwickeln können.

Eine konsequente Fortsetzung der Thematisierung des spannungsvollen Verhältnisses von Realität und aussagekräftiger Manipulation, jener Entstellung bis zur Kenntlichkeit, ist auch in „Übergang„ zu entdecken. Diese Serie, durch die Klarheit ihrer zentralperspektivischen Erfassung stärker an die Typologien seiner Düsseldorfer Professoren erinnernd und ebenso auf einen aufmerksamen, vergleichenden Blick zielend, besteht aus einer Vielzahl europäischer Grenzhäuschen, die teils wie verlassene Tankstellen an endlosen Highways wirken, wie Haltestellen, an denen nie ein Bus hält, teils wie kleine Häuschen mit für immer verschlossenen Fensterläden. Manchmal sind sie mit Graffitis dekoriert, weisen auf die längst obsoleten Möglichkeiten des Geldumtauschs etwa zwischen Spanien und Frankreich hin oder sind mit der recht zeitgemäß wirkenden Internetadresse www.policija.si versehen. Aus diesen, trotz ihrer Funktionalität erstaunlich variantenreichen Zweckbauten, treten keine Grenzbeamten zur Kontrolle mehr, und doch erinnert die Betrachtung der Bilder – äußerst sachlich mit einem Kürzelsystem bezeichnet, das aus den beiden Anfangsbuchstaben der Grenzländer und einer Nummerierung besteht – an das Gefühl, im nächsten Moment kontrolliert zu werden, und die immer noch spürbare Überraschung beim Vorbeifahren, dass dieses Procedere in dem hier erfassten geografischen Feld der Vergangenheit angehört.

Schulz erzeugt dadurch eine gewisse Ortlosigkeit, dass er den Hintergrund durch eine Unschärfe, die eher wie Nebel als wie eine Überbelichtung wirkt, verunklart hat. Dass es kein Nebel ist, wird sofort klar, wenn man die harten Schatten sieht, die manche der Grenzhäuschen werfen: Josef Schulz fotografiert auch bei blauem Himmel. Dieser Kontrast von präzise erfassten Gebäuden und Umgebung, der die Architekturen dekontextualisiert, ist absichtsvoll inszeniert, hält den eiligen Betrachter auf und lässt nach der Bedeutung dieser mittlerweile funktionslosen Relikte, der sich auflösenden „Denkmäler„ fragen, danach auch, welche Grenzen noch immer existieren. Offensichtlich wird auch, trotz der verblassten Töne, die Varianz der Flora: Nadelbäume und Palmen, Weinberge und schneebedeckte Berge bilden den Fonds der präzisen Architekturen, die die Frage aufwerfen, wie stark sich möglicherweise nationale Unterschiede in ihnen manifestieren. Die Nivellierung der Umgebung lässt zudem danach fragen, wie wichtig regionale Identitäten nach dem Bedeutungsverlust nationaler Grenzen sind. So schön manche der Pflanzen sind, so sehr sie Fernweh wecken, so melancholisch stimmt ihre fotografische Auflösung zugleich.

Die offensichtliche Künstlichkeit auf den Bildern ist Ausdruck Schulz’ Interesse an einem neuen Umgang mit dokumentarischem Material. Punkt für Punkt schreibt er, aus vorhandenem Bildmaterial, ein neues Bild, ganz im Sinne jener Einordnung der Fotografie in den Bereich der Grafik, die Peter Lunenfeld in seinem Aufsatz „Digital photography. The Dubitative Image„* vorgeschlagen hat. So wird die Hinterfragung der fotografischen Evidenz zentrales Merkmal der Schulz’schen Bilder. Damit soll nicht der Realitätsgehalt des fotografischen Bildes verleugnet werden. Interessant ist das Stadium zwischen Wiedergabe und digitaler Bearbeitung, das Manipulationen zur besseren Sichtbarmachung des Vorhandenen nutzt und bemerkenswerterweise Unschärfe in Klarheit verwandelt.

Es macht geradezu die Qualität seiner Bilder aus, dass sich die verwendeten Mittel nicht verselbständigen, sondern dem dokumentarischen Gedanken untergeordnet sind. So entsteht das seltsame Phänomen einer Wahrheitsfindung durch Manipulation der Art, die sich selbst kenntlich macht und dadurch den Realitätsgehalt des Dargestellten nicht desavouiert, obwohl die ästhetische Wirkung der Bilder mit ihrer stimmigen Farbigkeit stark ist - eine Schönheit im Übergang, die den Verfall des Dokumentierten sichtbar macht und damit auch den weiteren Prozess andeutet.

Und noch eine andere Art von Übergang wird durch die Art des fotografischen Zugriffs sichtbar: Innen- und Außenraum scheinen manchmal durchlässig, in den Fenstern spiegelt sich die Natur so stark, dass man meint, die Vegetation setze sich im Inneren fort; in oesl01 etwa, wo die Farben der Spiegelung so viel kräftiger als die der äußeren Umgebung sind. So scheinen die präzisen architektonischen Varianten etwas von dem zu enthalten, was sie umgibt, und bieten einer vielleicht nur vermeintlichen Angleichung Widerstand, sie deuten auf Differenz, die auch im Wandel sichtbar bleibt. Und so zeigt jede einzelne Architektur „physiognomische„ Eigenheiten, die das Einzelbild über die serielle Konzeption hinaus interessant erscheinen lassen.

*In: Snap to Grid. A User’s Guide to Digital Arts, Media, and Cultures„, Cambridge, Mass. 2000, S. 55-69