Josef Schulz
arbeiten
information

 

< back   bio/ texts/ news/ contact/

sign out

Press release Galerie Heinz-Martin Weigand, by Julia Beister, translated by Alison Shamrock

To start off the year 2010, Galerie Weigand is showing new photographs by Josef Schulz. They can be considered an expansion of the “Sachliches” series of works, if one goes along with the artist’s fascination with industrial estates and suburban areas.

The series is entitled “Sign out”, which offers an apt description of the series, for this time Schulz focuses on the great variety of billboards – as they would occur in such locations – photographed during his travels in the USA. Where they are found, these striking illuminated bodies form a second level above the buildings and indicate their respective purposes. They bear written messages and their sole purpose is to alert and seduce us.

This is precisely the point at which Schulz interferes, using digital manipulation to free the billboards of their “designation”, and thus of their function; he breaks off all communication, sign out. The original structure with its “form and function” is now reduced to pure form and in this way is transformed into a sculptural, artistic object.

Josef Schulz reinforces this impression by making meticulous alterations on the computer, where he focuses on accentuating form, colours and sheen, or matteness. Autonomous spatial bodies are created, devoid of scratches, defects, or other traces, seemingly timeless, artificial.

The object’s autonomy is the result of the perspective he chooses for his photographs. Located nowhere in particular, free from any clues to surrounding buildings or specific vegetation, only the respective skies promote speculation about the different locations. These skies, with their pastel colour gradients, stand out against the gaudily contrasted fields of colour on the billboards and their geometrical construction. Different combinations evoke different moods; the effect of a grey sky behind a white billboard is different from that of the yellow sign in front of a bright blue sky. A contrail suggests depth and expanse in the image - here one is able to discern a scale which is missing in the other photographs. There the point of view alternates between model and reality.

Besides their strong aesthetic appeal there is also something inherently absurd about these more recent photographs. Their formal language is reminiscent of comic strips. Like empty speech or thought bubbles they challenge their surroundings, speak of the interchangeability of needs and reflect upon the mechanisms of one's own desires.

These colourful, blank banners symbolically mark our current period of transition. In this manner, one the one hand, they signify the shattered dream, like warning proxies they comment upon the numerous closures of business in the course of the economic crisis. On the other hand, however, they seem like beacons of hope for a new beginning, they are placeholders for a wealth of new ideas in whose implementation America, as the land of opportunities, firmly believes.

Josef Schulz, born 1966, studied photography with Bernd Becher and Thomas Ruff. In 2001 he was named European Architectural Photographer of the Year, in 2007 he received a grant from the ZF Art Foundation, Friedrichshafen (Germany). He lives and works in Düsseldorf.

Josef Schulz
arbeiten
information

 

< back   bio/ texts/ news/ contact/

sign out

Pressetext der Galerie Heinz-Martin Weigand, von Julia Beisler

Josef Schulz, geboren 1966, studierte bei Bernd Becher und Thomas Ruff Fotografie. 2001 wurde er als Europäischer Architekturfotograf des Jahres ausgezeichnet, 2007 erhielt er das Stipendium der ZF-Kulturstiftung, Friedrichshafen. Er lebt und arbeitet in Düsseldorf.

Die Galerie Weigand zeigt als Jahresauftakt 2010 neue Fotografien von Josef Schulz. Man kann sie als Erweiterung der Werkserie „Sachliches“ betrachten, folgt man der Faszination des Künstlers für industriell geprägte Gebiete und Vorstädte.

"Sign out" lautet der Titel und beschreibt die Serie treffend, denn Schulz widmet sein Interesse diesmal der variantenreichen Fülle von Werbeschildern - wie sie an besagten Orten vorkommen - fotografiert auf Reisen durch die USA. Diese markanten Leuchtkörper bilden in Natura eine zweite Ebene oberhalb der angesiedelten Architektur und verweisen auf deren jeweilige Spezifikation. Sie sind Träger von Textbotschaften und dienen einzig dem Hinweis und der Verführung.

Genau hier greift Schulz ein, befreit die Schilder mittels digitaler Manipulation von ihrer „Bezeichnung", somit von der Funktion; er kappt die Kommunikation, sign out. Das ursprüngliche Gebilde aus „form and function“ ist nun reduziert auf die reine Form, wandelt sich somit zum skulpturalen künstlerischen Objekt.

Diesen Eindruck bestärkt Josef Schulz durch die minutiöse Bearbeitung am Computer mit dem Fokus auf die Hervorhebung von Form, Farben und Glanz, bzw. Mattigkeit. Es entstehen autonome räumliche Körper, an denen keinerlei Kratzer, Defekte, oder andere Spuren sichtbar sind, scheinbar zeitlos, künstlich.

Die Autonomie des Objekts resultiert auch durch die gewählte Perspektive seiner Aufnahmen. Unverortet, ohne jeglichen Hinweis auf umliegende Gebäude oder eine spezifische Vegetation, lässt allein der jeweilig abgebildete Himmel die Spekulation auf unterschiedliche Standorte zu. Diese Himmelsfarben bilden in ihrer pastellenen Farbverläufen einen Kontrast zu den knallig abgesetzten Farbfeldern der Schilder und deren geometrischen Ausführung. Die verschiedenen Kombinationen wecken unterschiedliche Stimmungen; der graue Himmel zu weißem Schild hat eine andere Wirkung als das gelbe Schild vor strahlend blauem Himmel. Ein Kondensstreifen suggeriert Tiefe und Weite im Bild, man kann eine Größendimension erahnen, was in den anderen Fotografien offen bleibt. Dort schwankt der Blickpunkt zwischen Modell und Realität.

Neben ihren starken ästhetischen Reizen haben diese neuen Fotografien auch einen absurden Moment. In ihrer Funktionslosigkeit wirken sie fast comicartig; als leere Sprech- oder Denkblasen hinterfragen sie ihre Umgebung, erzählen von der Austauschbarkeit von Wünschen und reflektieren die Mechanismen des eigenen Begehrens.